Barley Lentil Soup with Lemon

With winter finally feeling like it’s here in Toronto, I wanted to use my slow cooker to make soup. I found two recipes that piqued my interest in the Canadian Living Slow Cooker cookbook — Barley Lentil Soup, and the Lemon Lentil Soup. Both recipes called for green lentils (very high in fibre). I liked the pot barley from the first recipe (which is a whole grain, unlike pearl barley) and the lemon/oregano combination of the second. So being a compulsive recipe tweaker, I merged them together for a hearty bowl of warmth and happiness. Barley Lentil Soup with Lemon  Enjoy!

– Zannat

Leave a Reply

