Looking for a gluten-free dessert?

Recently a friend needed to take a gluten-free dessert to a dinner party. I suggested a fruit platter, but her host specifically asked for a baked good. Seemed a bit fussy to me. But a few days later I stumbled across Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Brownie Mix. I was highly skeptical of whether it would taste as good as a “real” brownie.

Well, I must confess that it satisfied this chocolate-lover’s tastebuds. The brownie was moist and very chocolatey. The mix uses sorghum, tapioca and corn flour instead of the traditional wheat flour. I did use milk instead of water, and managed to get 35 brownies out of it instead of the 16 jumbo ones they listed on the package. Each one of my bite-size brownies is 80 calories of heaven!

– Zannat

Leave a Reply

